Morris Gleitzman Trio

“Once I escaped from an orphanage to find Mum and Dad. Once I rescued a girl called Zelda from a burning house. Once I made a Nazi with toothache laugh.”

Morris Gleitzman’s powerful saga of a young fugitive running for his life in Nazi-occupied Poland, which has captured the hearts and minds of readers worldwide. Once there was a boy called Felix, who believed in good things. Even when his parents were taken by the Nazis. Even when he hid for three years in a Polish orphanage high in the mountains. Then Felix set out to find his parents, and his whole world changed forever… As Felix and his friend Zelda dodge convoys to the death camps, hide from genocidal Nazis and search for a place of safety, how far will hope and courage take them? In this profound and moving trilogy, one of Australia’s most celebrated children’s authors takes Felix’s story from the Second World War right up to the present day.

most of you loved this

Recent reviews

  • Amazing, I loved the series.

    8 March 2014

  • loved it

    Once, Then, Now. Is just pure amazing, it creates such as realistic atmosphere, then I remind myself it’s just a book, but then I remind myself it’s based on real life Holocaust.

    19 February 2012

See all reviews

Who's reading this?


  • Photo of Morris Gleitzman

    Morris Gleitzman

    One of Australia’s, and now the world’s, best-known and loved children’s authors, Morris Gleitzman tackles tough subjects in a funny and offbeat way. He has never set out to write “issues books” and says that his writing is as much for himself as for his readers.


    Morris has won many awards in Australia, including the YABBA award for Bumface and Toad Rage, and won the 2013 Redbridge Book Award for After.

Look inside

  • Preview 0
  • Preview 1
  • Preview 2
  • Preview 3
  • Preview 4
  • Preview 5
  • Preview 6
  • Preview 7

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book