A Pocketful of Stars

A moving and magical tale of family, fitting in – and a virtual world as real as the actual one. Safiya and her mum have never seen eye to eye. Her mum doesn’t understand Safiya’s love of gaming, or her struggle to fit in. They seem to have nothing in common. Safiya can’t help but wonder if Mum wishes she was more like her confident best friend, Elle. But then her mum falls into a coma. As Safiya waits by her bedside, she finds herself in a strange alternative world that looks awfully like one of her games. There’s a rebellious teenage girl, with a secret, who looks suspiciously familiar. Oh, and see that house with the open door? Isn’t it Mum’s house? Let’s go inside…

  • A rich and unusual story of finding out who you are
  • For fans of Ross Welford and Kiran Millwood-Hargrave
  • Rich and vivid storytelling that’s sprinkled with magic
  • The debut novel of exciting new talent Aisha Bushby

most of you loved this

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Authors

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book