The Memory Cage

“Grandad’s getting worse. Last night he could have killed us all…”

Alex’s beloved grandfather is sick. His memory is failing, and Alex’s parents want to put him in a home. Alex has promised Grandad that he won’t let that happen. But Alex has broken promises before. When he was growing up in the Bosnian War, he swore that he would protect his little brother. It was a promise he couldn’t keep. Alex can’t fail again. But what if the only way to save Grandad could shatter the family… and also tear Alex apart? A powerfully moving inter-generational tale of war, memory, love and loyalty, written in the vein of Michael Morpurgo and Michelle Magorian.

“Beautifully written and carefully conceived, The Memory Cage is an exceptional first novel.” Lancashire Evening Post

“A thoughtful story about confronting fears.” Books 4 Teens

most of you loved this

Recent reviews

  • It was a good book but a bit said. I felt pity for Alex after so many things he had gone through but on the whole it was good

    9 March 2014

  • liked it

    I like this book.I am sad for alex because of all of those things what happend to alex.I wa sreading this book in school with my english teacher.It’s sad book littel bit.I don’t won’t to have brother like Lenoerd and i don’t won’t live with not my real family.

    In school we have to write a dairy what happend to alex.We were the Alex.

    Those people who like books like that read this book. :) :) :) :) :)

    By Kristina 
    From Year 7

    26 October 2011

  • loved it

    If only Grandad’s memory was better, if only he didn’t keep doing dangerous stuff. These are the thoughts of Alex, the adopted child of the Smith family. In desperation to improve his Grandad’s memory and prevent him being sent to care home, he comes up with the idea of making a scrapbook of his Grandad’s life. He’s got a week to change his parents mind. The pace of the story turns up a notch in the latter half of the book. And as it became more intriguing I found it difficult to put down. With lots of help, Alex uncovers family secrets from his Grandad’s past during World War Two and at the same time facing up to his own. Alex, the hero of the story, as a special relationship with his Grandad and some of the conversations they have are very touching to read. With themes of mental illness, family secrets, grief and the terrible things it does to people, this book will appeal to a wide audience of children and adults alike.

    3 March 2011

  • I really like this book. Great story and very intresting !!

    8 February 2011

See all reviews

Authors

  • Awards

    Ruth Eastham won the 2012 Coventry Inspiration Book Award (7-11 category)for The Memory Cage and the 2013 Oldham Brilliant Book Award for The Messenger Bird.

Look inside

  • Preview 0
  • Preview 1
  • Preview 2
  • Preview 3
  • Preview 4
  • Preview 5
  • Preview 6
  • Preview 7
  • Preview 8
  • Preview 9

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book