The Runaways

London, 1939. Must Molly stay and face the bombs? World War Two is starting. Everyone’s talking about air raids and Hitler. London is no place for a child to be. That’s why city kids like Molly are being evacuated to the country. Molly can’t wait. She’s terrified of the war. But Mum has other ideas. She says Molly must stay to help with the war effort – trapped in London, at the heart of the danger. Even worse, there’s not enough food for people, let alone pets. It looks as if Molly’s dog, Bertie, will have to go. So Molly decides to escape. Along with Bertie, she stows away on a train. But where are they going? How will they live? And who can they trust?

  • A World War Two story by top author Holly Webb
  • Captures the spirit of Britain at the start of the war
  • Perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo and Megan Rix
  • A fantastic backup for the school history curriculum
  • Big themes of resilience, identity, loss and belonging
  • Holly’s many books include Return to the Secret Garden

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Who's reading this?

Authors

  • 28117 holly webb 1 529330

    Holly Webb

    Holly is the best-selling author of lots of brilliant books including the Molly’s Magic, Animalmagic and Rose series.

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book