The Secret of Nightingale Wood

When grief has broken your heart, can the magic of fairy tales heal it? Who says stories have to stay on the page…? It’s 1919. The First World War is over, but that doesn’t mean things are hunky dory in Henrietta’s life. Mama is ill. Father’s gone abroad for work. Nanny Jane is busy with the baby. Which leaves Henry all alone in their spooky new country house, wrestling with the pain of her brother’s death. The only company she has are the characters from her old childhood stories. That is, until Henry wanders into the woods…

  • A magical novel which celebrates classic fiction
  • Moving, beautifully written and hugely acclaimed
  • Enchanting storytelling with a truly timeless feel
  • For fans of Emma Carroll and Katherine Rundell

Recent reviews

See all reviews

Who's reading this?

Authors

Look inside

  • Preview 0
  • Preview 1
  • Preview 2
  • Preview 3
  • Preview 4
  • Preview 5
  • Preview 6

Rate this book

  1. loved it
  2. liked it
  3. okay
  4. not for me
  5. rubbish
Write about this book